NAACP South Dade

About Us

South Dade Branch of the NAACP and our strategic goals

We welcome members who live or work south of Flagler Street in Miami-Dade County (Florida), so long as you share our goals. Miami-Dade County is larger than four U.S. states, and our local community clamored for a voice closer to its needs and concerns. We hope to be able to respond to those needs, and we welcome participation in this project.

In March 2020, the Florida State Conference — working with representatives of branches throughout the state — published our strategic goals for 2020 and beyond.  They’re ambitious in terms of reach, membership growth, and how we hope to improve lives in our community.  Click here for a summary.

The history of the NAACP is a fascinating one. Founded in 1909, the NAACP is the foremost, largest, boldest, and most widely recognized civil rights organization in the United States. It’s more than 500,000 members and supporters throughout the United States and the world are the premier advocates for civil and economic rights in their communities, leading grassroots campaigns for equal opportunity and voter mobilization. Sit down for a bit with a cool drink and read more here.

Our Mission

We are committed to advocating for our communities.

Including in the wider county area — and on providing community resources that will help advance educational and socioeconomic goals of the residents within the South Miami-Dade County area.We are committed to working closely and well with the Miami-Dade NAACP branch, whose focus is on the communities in the northern end of our county.

The overarching mission of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People is to ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equal rights of all persons and to eliminate racial discrimination. The vision of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People is to ensure a society in which all individuals have equal rights without discrimination based on race.


Dwight Bullard
Harold Ford
First Vice President
Carole Jackson
Second Vice President
Tanika Bennett
Third Vice President
Dr. Bradford Brown
Rubiett Jenkins
Allison McMillon
Assistant Treasurer

Committee Chairs

Pamela Sanders-White
Executive Committee Member
Norman Hodge
Executive Committee Member
Dr. Rosalyn Walker
Dr. Martha Bertin
Carolyn Donaldson
Erian Stirrup White, Esq.
Leal Redress
Hollie Rozier
Freedom Fund
Rev. Dr. Alphonse Jackson, Sr.
Religious Affairs
Dr. Keitha Burnett
Pamela Brown-Eyo
Climate & Environmental Justice
TsiTsi Wakhisi
Joe Demps
Community Engagement
Carole Jackson
Economic Development & Civic Engagement
Rubiett Jenkins